Thursday, May 27, 2010

College Radio: I Wasn't Funny Then Either

As a broadcast major at a small college, I held a few prominent positions at my school's on campus radio station. One such position included being the production director for a semester or two. As production director, I was basically in charge of conceptualizing and producing all of the on-air promos for contests along with music promos, legal ID's, sweepers and a bunch of other on-air content. Well I recently came across a CD of all the stuff I did and it was pretty entertaining to listen back on. Not necessarily entertaining because they were good, but more because I remember thinking a lot of them were REALLY good, when in hindsight they were really mediocre. That happens when you work for one of the best radio station's in the nation... your standards change a bit. But I still thought it would be fun to share them on here. I made little videos out of them with some photos of me in the on-air and production studios at my station: KULV, The Rock You Listen To. So anywho, enjoy. Or don't.

KULV's Berry Good Spring Break Promo:


Six Flags Ride of Your Life Promo (starring my very good friend, Irene):


I was an intern for The Kevin and Bean Show during the first semester of my senior year. So during the second, I got in touch with them and asked if they'd record some personalized ID's for my radio show. They did some great ones. Here are just a few of them:


Sunday, May 23, 2010

LOST Without The Internet

At this very moment, the season finale of LOST is airing live on ABC. Am I watching it? Of course I'm not. Why am I not watching it? Because I'm at work. LOST has aired on Tuesday night's this entire season and because ABC wanted to make an event out of the finale, it is airing on Sunday night instead. Why is this bad? Because my regular board-op shift at KROQ is on Sunday nights. I actually really like the idea of making an event out of the finale, but what I don't like about it is that I have to work during it. So the finale airs from 9pm-11:30pm. I work until 1am. If I haul it home, I can make it home in 30-35 minutes. So let's say by the time I get in and start the show on my Tivo, it's 1:40am. A 2 1/2 hour episode, minus the commercial breaks will maybe be, what, an hour 45 minutes. That gets me in bed at 3:25am. And what time will I have to get up for work tomorrow morning? 6:30am. 3 hours and 5 minutes of sleep. Ouch. And it's all for LOST. God damn you LOST, I love you so much.

Now I'm well aware that the content of this particular blog has not been too exciting. I'm sure you've all thoroughly enjoyed reading my thought process behind viewing a television show. But the main reason I'm here is because this blog is the ONLY safe place on the internet for me to go. Facebook will be full of LOST status updates. I'm too afraid to go onto Yahoo or Google for fear that any sort of LOST update will be in the news sections. I don't even want to check my email because I might see that someone wrote on my wall and I'll be too tempted to check it. So here I am killing time on my blog, waiting to get off work so I can go bid a tearful farewell to Jack, Kate, Desmond, Smokey, Ben, Miles, Hurley, Sawyer, Sayid, Jin, Sun, Claire, Baby Aaron, Whidmore, Dead Locke, Jacob, Jacob's Nameless Brother, Richard, Milpdeis (who I wanted to double check the spelling of but am too afraid to type his name in a Google search for fear a spoiler will come up), Vincent, Rose, Bernard, all the dead characters who I don't want to name because I've already bid my tearful farewell to them, Penny, Walt, all those people on Whidmore's team who I think are still on the island and everyone else who I left out and will later regret leaving out. And I'd like to thank you for understanding that I took the time to list all those characters just to keep myself from drifting on the internet. I've wasted your time, and I can't thank you enough for allowing me to do so. Happy LOST Day.

Monday, May 10, 2010

Big Woody

I saw this bomb ass looking bus the other day on my way to work. It was just cruisin' along in the carpool lane of the 405 North near Manhattan Beach. So I busted out my camera and snapped this picture. I'd actually advise against taking photographs while driving. I crashed right after taking this picture and my car blew up. Like, into a million pieces. Huge fire ball. I'm fine. It made the news, you probably heard about it. But the other guy was texting so he ended up getting the blame. Moral of that story? Don't text and drive.


Back to the bus, it's hard to read but along the top is this website: www.bigwoodytours.com. And the back has a cool little logo that says, "Big Woody." Which really threw me off because just a few days earlier on the opposite side of the freeway I saw what I thought was already called the Big Woody. Am I just totally mistaken or is this not the biggest woody you've ever seen?





Lame joke. Lame, lame joke.