Monday, July 5, 2010

I'm Ballin' Like Tom Selleck

Holy crap, did I really just take a whole month off from blogging?! DAMN! I should've hopped on the momentum of the furry blog and been blogging everyday, but instead I took a month off. Good job Kevin, real smooth. Well the good thing about taking a month off is it brings me to the realization that my mustache is one month old today. What a milestone!

As mentioned briefly in my Furry blog, I grew out a real life mustache for the first time in my life for KROQ's annual summer show, the Weenie Roast. The plan was to keep it for the day and shave it the next. Well, the feedback received on said 'stache was overwhelmingly positive and even though I went home and tried to shave it, the razor wouldn't let me. It was like the 'stache had some kind of shield preventing the razor from cutting it. What a 'stache. But I gotta say, this month has been a tremendous one, and I really think the mustache is to thank.

Check out this bad boy of a song I wrote.



Ok I didn't really write that. The mustache did.

I'm not much of an attention whore, but I don't think a single day has passed where I haven't received at least one comment on the 'stache. And again, they're almost always positive. Though I'm not gonna act like everyone loves it. I went on ChatRoulette for the first time in months to give the mustache a try. I talked to some family in Brazil and they kept using the word "feo" to describe it. Occasionally they'd add the word "muy" in front of "feo".

Dr. Drew hates it with a passion. I walked into Loveline the other day and instead of saying hello, I got a "Nope... I don't like the 'stache. It reminds me of the 70s and I hated the 70s." In turn, Drew hates me. This was also the night that Loveline's web guy (and all around douchebag) Tyler pointed out that I looked like Luigi on parole. Then he posted THIS picture on the Loveline Facebook page. Click that THIS (or click THIS THIS) to see all the wonderful comments people left. But it's amazing how much the negative comments don't affect me. I think that mustache shield protects against negativity. Plus, the mustache is really it's own entity. It's got it's own personality and really is it's own being. And it's way pimp, it gets ladies like no one's business. Sadly, I still do not.

I've learned a lot about mustaches in the past month. I learned they call mustaches "Mo's" in New Zealand. "Mo" has an entirely different meaning here, in case any New Zealanders are reading this. But I'd have no problem if the Flight of the Conchords passed me in the street and said, "Look at that big old mo!"

I've also learned that pomade sucks as mustache wax. Had to buy the real thing on ebay. It works magically. Smells like carpet cleaner, but works magically.


And most importantly, I've learned that mustache rides are way more fun when you're the one with the mustache. Tickles a little less, but way more fun.