After a day and a half full of heavy rain here in the friendly city of Lomita, a random lake appeared in the small field next to my apartment. I documented the occasion with a short video and dubbed the body of water Lake Lomita. I'm such an outside of the box thinker. I posted the video on FB and it got a good amount of views/feedback. All of which were appreciated. But one stood out a bit more than the others.
My good friend (and part time lover) Tyler is the web guy for Loveline. And my lake video apparently tickled his fancy (among other things) to the point that he felt it would be appropriate to share my video with Dr. Drew. Need proof? Here:
That would be Dr. Drew himself, fully engaged in watching my video. A sight of beauty. When I asked Tyler how Drew reacted to the video, this was his response:
"he was typical drew - paid attention for like 2 seconds and then started talking"
If a better review exists, I'd like to hear it. So from here on out, as you watch my videos, just know that they're not only endorsed by Dr. Drew, but he might even have watched 2 seconds of them before moving on to conversations with others. See the Dr. Drew approved video here:
How about a good old fashion "whine about how bad my luck with women is to make people feel sorry for me" post?? It's been a while, hasn't it?
So I was sort of dating this girl. I say "sort of" only because we never defined anything. But we went on six dates over the span of about a month, so I suppose that can be defined as dating. She was way cool. I really enjoyed my time with her. We did fun things. She seemed very impressed by the places I took her and as far as I could tell, she seemed very into me. And there were conversations had between us that verified the fact that she was into me. I wouldn't say I went over the top with it, but I made sure she knew that I was quite into her as well. We seemed to be moving at a healthy pace. Not too fast, not too slow.
So she invites me to attend her best friend's birthday brunch. Which entailed meeting not only her best friend, but the family of her best friend and several of her other friends. I took this invite as a sign that things were getting a little more serious between us. And I was very excited for that. So I went to the party, met her friends and had a GREAT time. I got along with everyone, had some great conversations with her friends. I wouldn't say I blew anyone out of the water, but I certainly wasn't a jerk to anyone and I don't think I was a dud or a party pooper or anything like that. Though who knows, I'm just sort of naturally lame, so maybe I didn't realize it. Anywho...the day ends and we say our goodbyes. A little bit of hug, a little but of kiss; the usual for us by now...
Aaaannndd....I never hear from her again.
Not entirely true, we DID text each other a few times during the next few days, but it was like pulling teeth! Every text I sent yielded a short response from her with no follow up questions or interest in what I was doing. Which was COMPLETELY opposite to the text conversations we had had over the past month. So then I stopped texting her so as not to be "that guy". And sure enough, she never texted. I called her a few days after the texts stopped and left a very mature, very honest message. I basically told her that I understood there had been some sort of wall put up between us and I was happy to give her her space, but I was just shocked that that wall was put up without any conversation explaining why. I just asked that she call me back as I would appreciate having that conversation. Did she call? Nope.com.
So this was over two weeks ago and while it's still on my mind to some extent (obviously enough to rant about it here) and I'm still slightly bummed, I've pretty much forced myself to move on. I suck at letting go of things, but it does me no good to hold onto a girl who won't communicate with me. So as I've spent time thinking about it, I've come to a few conclusions as to what could have happened. And I'd appreciate YOUR vote as to which you think it is.
1.) She started seeing someone else. It's certainly possible, she's beautiful, smart, down to earth, easy to get along with... I'm sure I'm not the only guy interested in her. The only reason this is hard to buy is that she stopped contact with me VERY suddenly. It wasn't a gradual thing like one might expect if there's another person in the picture.
2.)She died. Or she faked her own death. This one would be tough to believe as her Facebook has been updated by her since. But maybe she hired someone to do that for her in her dead (or fake dead) state.
3.) She gave me up for Lent. The day I met her friends was the Sunday before Fat Tuesday. Maybe she gave me up and to make the sacrifice even more difficult, she opted not to tell me about it. Here, I wrote a song about that if you'd like to do further research:
4.)She just stopped liking me. We all know this one is not only most likely the case, but pretty much is the case. It's the winner. But please humor me and pick one of the other options.
So check it! For the FIRST TIME EVER, I've got a poll on this here blog. So here, vote for which you think happened:
God, I'm such a loser...as I'm typing this I'm reminiscing on the fact that in some of our first online exchanges, she thanked me for numbering things. She said people were more likely to read things if they were in lists. Is that why YOU read this list? It is, isn't it? Damn, she was right.
Ok friends, this was whinier than I expected it to be. Sorry for being emo... but if you'll excuse me, I have to go cut myself now.
So I did my second interview for receptacle magazine with Long Beach band Boris Smile. I can't recommend a band more. Not only were these guys incredibly nice, but their music is just stellar. AND at the end of the interview, they fed me chili. There's no quicker way to my heart than chili. But let's get back to the music. I'm kind of a sucker for anything with an acoustic guitar and if you add in a plethora of instruments (including tuba, keys, violin, ACCORDION and more) then I'm just sold. These guys were nice enough to not only let me stumble over questions and interview them, but they also performed THREE songs for me. If you don't feel like watching the whole interview, do yourself the favor and AT LEAST watch their performances. So so good. Please enjoy.
So last night it was announced that my friend & co-worker "Psycho" Mike Catherwood has been selected to be on the cast of Dancing With The Stars. This surprised me as much as it did all of the viewing audience who had no clue who he was. But I'm immensely excited and proud of him...he's a standup dude who's worked hard for everything he's earned and it's great to see good things happen to good people like him.
So I'm not here to be a name dropper or ass kisser... really I'm here just to sell out and ride the media train that is Psycho Mike. I've shared a few blogs in the past that have discussed my Loveline/Kevin & Bean adventures with Mike. And without getting into detail, let's just say I've shared more bodily fluids with Mike than I care to admit. But because of these blog posts, a number of random internet perusers have come across my blog. I know this because I'm able to see what keywords people searched that led them here. And it seems like every week someone searched something Mike related to find my blog. Whether it be as simple as "Psycho Mike Loveline" or as specific as "Psycho Mike gets squirted on"...they all lead here. So I'm predicting that Mike's appearance on Dancing With The Stars will charm America and lead many an internet user to google his name. And I want to be sure that THIS BLOG comes up during those searches. So I've been sure to randomly disperse key words that might come up in a google search into this blog....
So do me a favor... IF you did indeed come across this blog while searching for something Michael Catherwood related, please feel free to comment to let me know. You can be annonymous, that's cool. I'm just very curious to see what the Psycho Mike effect is.
And Mike, I know you found this after googling your name. So hey stud, congrats! And thanks for sharing your "cauldron of desire" with me as often as you have.