Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Or maybe it's just b/c I look like this...

How about a good old fashion "whine about how bad my luck with women is to make people feel sorry for me" post?? It's been a while, hasn't it?

So I was sort of dating this girl. I say "sort of" only because we never defined anything. But we went on six dates over the span of about a month, so I suppose that can be defined as dating. She was way cool. I really enjoyed my time with her. We did fun things. She seemed very impressed by the places I took her and as far as I could tell, she seemed very into me. And there were conversations had between us that verified the fact that she was into me. I wouldn't say I went over the top with it, but I made sure she knew that I was quite into her as well. We seemed to be moving at a healthy pace. Not too fast, not too slow.

So she invites me to attend her best friend's birthday brunch. Which entailed meeting not only her best friend, but the family of her best friend and several of her other friends. I took this invite as a sign that things were getting a little more serious between us. And I was very excited for that. So I went to the party, met her friends and had a GREAT time. I got along with everyone, had some great conversations with her friends. I wouldn't say I blew anyone out of the water, but I certainly wasn't a jerk to anyone and I don't think I was a dud or a party pooper or anything like that. Though who knows, I'm just sort of naturally lame, so maybe I didn't realize it. Anywho...the day ends and we say our goodbyes. A little bit of hug, a little but of kiss; the usual for us by now...

Aaaannndd....I never hear from her again.

Not entirely true, we DID text each other a few times during the next few days, but it was like pulling teeth! Every text I sent yielded a short response from her with no follow up questions or interest in what I was doing. Which was COMPLETELY opposite to the text conversations we had had over the past month. So then I stopped texting her so as not to be "that guy". And sure enough, she never texted. I called her a few days after the texts stopped and left a very mature, very honest message. I basically told her that I understood there had been some sort of wall put up between us and I was happy to give her her space, but I was just shocked that that wall was put up without any conversation explaining why. I just asked that she call me back as I would appreciate having that conversation. Did she call? Nope.com.

So this was over two weeks ago and while it's still on my mind to some extent (obviously enough to rant about it here) and I'm still slightly bummed, I've pretty much forced myself to move on. I suck at letting go of things, but it does me no good to hold onto a girl who won't communicate with me. So as I've spent time thinking about it, I've come to a few conclusions as to what could have happened. And I'd appreciate YOUR vote as to which you think it is.

1.) She started seeing someone else. It's certainly possible, she's beautiful, smart, down to earth, easy to get along with... I'm sure I'm not the only guy interested in her. The only reason this is hard to buy is that she stopped contact with me VERY suddenly. It wasn't a gradual thing like one might expect if there's another person in the picture.

2.) She died. Or she faked her own death. This one would be tough to believe as her Facebook has been updated by her since. But maybe she hired someone to do that for her in her dead (or fake dead) state.

3.) She gave me up for Lent. The day I met her friends was the Sunday before Fat Tuesday. Maybe she gave me up and to make the sacrifice even more difficult, she opted not to tell me about it. Here, I wrote a song about that if you'd like to do further research:



4.) She just stopped liking me. We all know this one is not only most likely the case, but pretty much is the case. It's the winner. But please humor me and pick one of the other options.

So check it! For the FIRST TIME EVER, I've got a poll on this here blog. So here, vote for which you think happened:




God, I'm such a loser...as I'm typing this I'm reminiscing on the fact that in some of our first online exchanges, she thanked me for numbering things. She said people were more likely to read things if they were in lists. Is that why YOU read this list? It is, isn't it? Damn, she was right.

Ok friends, this was whinier than I expected it to be. Sorry for being emo... but if you'll excuse me, I have to go cut myself now.

5 comments:

  1. I love the voting! Very funny!

    Also, damn her, but she's right about the numbered lists. As soon as I saw it, I felt assured of my choices and was willing to keep reading to finish the list. (not that I'd ever stop reading your blog, but you know what I mean)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I don't think you give yourself enough credit. You're obviously a fun, good looking guy with a good sense of humor. Seems like she's the one who's missing out. Have a little more faith in yourself...you'll find someone :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. well thank you kindly Anonymous!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Carrie says she died. I second that vote. Carrie also says you are the ONLY man she would date. Seriously. You should send Carrie a 'check one' note, if you asked if she wanted to go out with you, she would check yes. I would check yes too. Move to Indiana, Kevin, you could date two of us at once.

    ~~Carrie and Elizabeth

    ReplyDelete
  5. Gosh dangit, i love you two so much! Consider "Moving to Indiana to date both Carrie & Elizabeth at once" on my list of potential things to do in the near future.

    ReplyDelete