(This is the third entry of a countdown of the Top 5 Things I'll Never Get.)
UFC:
I know they say that man has some kind of primal urge to fight other men and in turn they have the same desire to WATCH men kick the crap out of other men. But what about women?? And what about men who were born with a testosterone deficiency, such as myself?? Did “they” forget about us?? I’m sorry but I can think of nothing less entertaining than watching two men whom I know nothing about beat one another senseless. I have absolutely zero desire to witness this. I don’t even like bar fights. I just get annoyed and uncomfortable. So why deliberately re-create those feelings by watching these UFC fights?? UFC has just been popping up on the mainstream a lot recently and while I’m sure those involved with the sport are thrilled, I just fail to see how others get excited about it. Again, my masculinity is probably about 10 times lower than that of the average man, so that might explain some of it. But it’s just hard for me to fathom how people get so much joy out of watching this sport. Do people think that they have to prove their worth as a human being by showing how much of a beating they can take? I hope not, ‘cause if that’s true, I’m screwed. If I accidentally stub my toe on my way up the stairs, I’m down for the count for the rest of the day. I might even need two days depending on how hard I stub it. But, if UFC fighting is something you do enjoy, more power to you. Though actually, you don’t get that “more power” from me until you let me watch someone beat the crap out of you. Then you’ll be proven to me. That’s just the rules, sorry.
No comments:
Post a Comment