(This is the 2nd entry of a countdown of the top 5 things I'll never get.)
MAINSTREAM HIP HOP:
Maybe it's because I'm white. But I don't think that's it because I know a lot of white people who are into crappy hip hop. And I also don't think that's the case because I do enjoy GOOD hip hop. Give me The Roots or Jurassic 5, or even some of the classics like Dr. Dre or Snoop or The Fresh Prince and DJ Jazzy Jeff; I'm all good with that. I just can't stand the crap on the radio today. All the Lil' Waynes and Lil' Jon's and Lil' Bow Wow's. I just can't get how people actually find a way to support their music. It's all the same and it's all REALLY bad! I'm generalizing a bit here but it seems like every mainstream hip hop song either deals with drinking, women, gambling, shooting people or all of the above. Granted, a lot of people like to do these things; especially shooting people. But I just can't understand how the people who listen to this music fail to see that every song is EXACTLY the same! Even the decent hip hop artists like Jay-Z or Eminem who tend to have more diverse song subjects will still release the good old fashion drinking in the club with half naked women song every now and then. It sells, I get that. I just don't get why it sells. Why are you bad America?
I'm with you you on this one Kevin. I just don't get it (except "All the Above" by t-pain and maino because that is my g song =P). I love Atmosphere and J5 and the old school stuff you mentioned but I just can't stand the large majority of mainstream hip-hop. It gets very mundane.
ReplyDeleteWhat I think it boils down to is how Mike Shinoda put it on the Fort Minor cd in "Cigarettes" when he says "We don't want the truth we just wanna feel fucking cool".
(that cd was actually quite good i thought ... I'll just never understand why Petrified -the worst song on the cd by far- was the first single ..)