I'm currently wearing a onesie as I prepare to leave for a pajama party at my cousins apartment to bring in the new year. But I wanted to leave you with a FINAL post of 2011. And I thought, what better way to do that than by sharing my TOP 3 VIDEOS from 2011. Videos I made of course. Thanks for watching any of my stupid little videos throughout the year and I hope you enjoy re-visiting these. HAPPY NEW YEAR FOLKS!
#3 - Erica's Surprise 30th Birthday Party! (April) - In this video, we learn that my sister is at her best when drunk.
#2 - My Day At The Big Four (April) - See what happens when a scared white boy tries to interact with insane metalheads.
#1 - Tin Man & Yenny Take A Trip (May) - We bought two semi-creepy dolls on our road trip up to Santa Barbara for our friends Cort & Julie's wedding. This is the result of that purchase.
Sometimes I go places and do stuff. Other times I don't go places but still do stuff. Watch all of that unfold here.
Saturday, December 31, 2011
Sunday, November 27, 2011
Top 5 Concert Moments: #3 - Wheel of Megadeth
#3 Wheel of Megadeth
Date - April 23, 2011
Location - Empire Polo Club (Indio, CA)
Event - The Big Four Festival
I'm not even gonna pretend like I'm a hardcore Megadeth fan or a metal head. However, my brother is both of these things and I did grow up listening to a lot of Megadeth and other metal bands because of him; and I must say, I enjoyed quite a bit of what I heard and still do to this day. So when my brother offered me his ticket to The Big Four festival (featuring Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth and Anthrax), I was all about it!
The whole concert was fantastic! Each band put on a great set, but the highlight of the show came when my cousin Marissa and I rode the ferris wheel in the back of the fairgrounds during Megadeth, giving us an amazing view of the stage and surrounding area. It was AWESOME and a concert moment I'll never forget. Check out our view:
Let's see if I can finish this countdown before the year ends. Bet I won't!
Date - April 23, 2011
Location - Empire Polo Club (Indio, CA)
Event - The Big Four Festival
I'm not even gonna pretend like I'm a hardcore Megadeth fan or a metal head. However, my brother is both of these things and I did grow up listening to a lot of Megadeth and other metal bands because of him; and I must say, I enjoyed quite a bit of what I heard and still do to this day. So when my brother offered me his ticket to The Big Four festival (featuring Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth and Anthrax), I was all about it!
The whole concert was fantastic! Each band put on a great set, but the highlight of the show came when my cousin Marissa and I rode the ferris wheel in the back of the fairgrounds during Megadeth, giving us an amazing view of the stage and surrounding area. It was AWESOME and a concert moment I'll never forget. Check out our view:
Let's see if I can finish this countdown before the year ends. Bet I won't!
Monday, October 31, 2011
Top 5 Concert Moments: #4 - Golfcart Confessions
My 4th favorite concert moment is actually a collection of moments. As an employee of the programming department at the World Famous KROQ for several years, I was fortunate enough to work backstage at a number of KROQ's big shows including 3 Weenie Roasts & 3 Acoustic Christmas's (Christmi?). And while I did a whole lot of different jobs/tasks while working, my favorite thing to do was drive the golf carts that escorted members of the bands on the bill to the various places
they needed to be. Most of the time I didn't exchange much beyond a "Hello" at the beginning of the ride and a "Thanks. -- You're welcome." at the end, but here are three experiences that stood out to me.
SUBLIME (w/ Rome): Weenie Roast 2010, Sublime was the big headliner. Well, Sublime w/ Rome was the big headliner and I was fortunate enough to drive the dudes from their trailer to the KROQ interview stage. Eric & Bud (bassist & drummer) were SUPER chill, as one might expect the guys from Sublime to be. Rome kept his headphones on & didn't say a word to me. I will therefore reserve judgment of his character as I have no conversation to go off of. I actually drove Rome's little brother later in the night and he was SO genuinely excited to be there and was really appreciative of me driving him around. -- But it was a very cool moment to have the musicians behind songs I've heard THOUSANDS of times sitting with me just casually conversing. Shooting the shit. Talking the talk. Alliterating the alliterative. That last one doesn't even make sense.
METALLICA: Well, I didn't drive the whole band. But I did drive James Hetfield (lead singer of said Metallica) to KROQ's interview stage during Weenie Roast 2008. That was undoubtedly the most hectic moment I ever experienced working a show. The interview stage is in an area backstage where fans (mostly contest winners)
were able to come hang out. So the second they got wind that Mr. Hetfield was coming, they crowded that stage like crazy. And once they saw me pulling up with Metallica's voice in my golf cart, they came rushing towards me. It wasn't so bad getting him to the stage, it was more difficult getting him away from the stage once the interview was done. I had SWARMS of people around me and once I had my passengers in the cart, I was just told to GO! So I started honking my horn and slowly pulling forward, praying the people in front of me would get out of the way, or at least know how to brace themselves for a golf cart impact. I successfully completed the drive without injury to myself or others, and James was nice enough to give me a pat on the back and a heart-felt, "thank you man" at the end. What a classy gentleman. (NOTE: I did not get a picture with James but I did snap this picture of Metallica guitarist Kirk Hammet as he was heading to the big stage to perform. I asked if I could follow him on stage to be a go-go dancer for them. He said no.)
SCOTT WEILAND: Now even though I'm not the biggest Stone Temple Pilots fan in the world, I can't deny their impact on music and their amazing musical abilities. AND when I saw them at Weenie Roast a few years back, they sort of blew me away. So I'm learning to love them more. But I had the honor of driving Scott Weiland himself (STP's lead singer) when he played as a solo act at Acoustic Christmas in 2008. The reason this particular drive stands out to me is because it was the most one-on-one conversation I had with any of the various band people I drove in my time with KROQ. He was so relaxed and candid. He was re-living memories from past shows. I remember specifically we talked about the time he wore a dress while performing at an MTV beach house, which is exactly what MTV DIDN'T want him to do. He still took pride in the fact that he wore that dress in front of this mainstream audience and likely drove the MTV exec's insane. But this conversation was one of those surreal moments in life where I realized I was listening to this rock star tell me his rock star stories. Firsthand! It was almost like I was a rock star wearing a dress myself!! And then I looked down and realized I was wearing a dress and all felt right with the world.
SUBLIME (w/ Rome): Weenie Roast 2010, Sublime was the big headliner. Well, Sublime w/ Rome was the big headliner and I was fortunate enough to drive the dudes from their trailer to the KROQ interview stage. Eric & Bud (bassist & drummer) were SUPER chill, as one might expect the guys from Sublime to be. Rome kept his headphones on & didn't say a word to me. I will therefore reserve judgment of his character as I have no conversation to go off of. I actually drove Rome's little brother later in the night and he was SO genuinely excited to be there and was really appreciative of me driving him around. -- But it was a very cool moment to have the musicians behind songs I've heard THOUSANDS of times sitting with me just casually conversing. Shooting the shit. Talking the talk. Alliterating the alliterative. That last one doesn't even make sense.
METALLICA: Well, I didn't drive the whole band. But I did drive James Hetfield (lead singer of said Metallica) to KROQ's interview stage during Weenie Roast 2008. That was undoubtedly the most hectic moment I ever experienced working a show. The interview stage is in an area backstage where fans (mostly contest winners)
SCOTT WEILAND: Now even though I'm not the biggest Stone Temple Pilots fan in the world, I can't deny their impact on music and their amazing musical abilities. AND when I saw them at Weenie Roast a few years back, they sort of blew me away. So I'm learning to love them more. But I had the honor of driving Scott Weiland himself (STP's lead singer) when he played as a solo act at Acoustic Christmas in 2008. The reason this particular drive stands out to me is because it was the most one-on-one conversation I had with any of the various band people I drove in my time with KROQ. He was so relaxed and candid. He was re-living memories from past shows. I remember specifically we talked about the time he wore a dress while performing at an MTV beach house, which is exactly what MTV DIDN'T want him to do. He still took pride in the fact that he wore that dress in front of this mainstream audience and likely drove the MTV exec's insane. But this conversation was one of those surreal moments in life where I realized I was listening to this rock star tell me his rock star stories. Firsthand! It was almost like I was a rock star wearing a dress myself!! And then I looked down and realized I was wearing a dress and all felt right with the world.
Monday, October 17, 2011
Top 5 Concert Moments: #5 - Muse Balls
Music means a lot to a lot of people. (That right there is about as profound as I get.) And it certainly means a whole lot to me. Music is an amazing thing in that it can be interpreted so many different ways and enjoyed for so many different reasons. And for me personally, the single best way to enjoy music is live. So, I've decided to make a list of my top 5 concert moments. These are moments from shows that I've been to that left a lasting impression on me for some reason of another. And rather than further explain how a top 5 countdown works, I'll just start it.
#5 Muse Balls
Date - Dec. 13, 2009
Location - Gibson Amphitheater (Los Angeles, CA)
Event - Night Two of KROQ's Almost Acoustic Christmas
This was my 3rd or 4th time seeing Muse live and to this day I rank them in a tie with Rage Against the Machine as the best live act I've ever seen. And because Rage has been on a hiatus (minus an occasional show here & there) for quite some time, Muse earns my vote for best live band still playing today. You MUST see them if you get the chance.
Aside from their over powering sound and amazing light show, the one thing that really stuck with me from their set at Acoustic Christmas was when they released a handful of HUGE white balloons filled with confetti into the crowd during "Plug In Baby". The crowd bounced the balloons (or balls, as I prefer to call them) all over the venue, giving everyone the chance to at least THINK they'd be able to hit a ball themselves. I was lucky enough to touch two balls. (Mmm.) And just like with any balloons, these ones were pop-able -- and each time one popped, a massive amount of confetti was released into the air, accenting the pulse of "Plug In Baby" each & every time.
Check out this video I took from the show of Muse's balls bouncing all over the crowd.
#5 Muse Balls
Date - Dec. 13, 2009
Location - Gibson Amphitheater (Los Angeles, CA)
Event - Night Two of KROQ's Almost Acoustic Christmas
This was my 3rd or 4th time seeing Muse live and to this day I rank them in a tie with Rage Against the Machine as the best live act I've ever seen. And because Rage has been on a hiatus (minus an occasional show here & there) for quite some time, Muse earns my vote for best live band still playing today. You MUST see them if you get the chance.
Aside from their over powering sound and amazing light show, the one thing that really stuck with me from their set at Acoustic Christmas was when they released a handful of HUGE white balloons filled with confetti into the crowd during "Plug In Baby". The crowd bounced the balloons (or balls, as I prefer to call them) all over the venue, giving everyone the chance to at least THINK they'd be able to hit a ball themselves. I was lucky enough to touch two balls. (Mmm.) And just like with any balloons, these ones were pop-able -- and each time one popped, a massive amount of confetti was released into the air, accenting the pulse of "Plug In Baby" each & every time.
Check out this video I took from the show of Muse's balls bouncing all over the crowd.
Labels:
Almost Acoustic Christmas,
Music,
Top 5 Concert Moments,
Video
Friday, October 14, 2011
The Aquabats "Red Sweater"
I post a lot of silly original songs on my music youtube page and they usually get views only when I share them on my Facebook. But the one that consistently gets random views is my cover of The Aquabats "Red Sweater" that my sister helped me with. Check it here:
I've received some fine feedback and I'm appreciative to those of you who gave compliments. But I'm finding a lot of people asking me for chords or tabs. And I feel bad for not sharing so that's the purpose of this blog. Here's what I play friends:
I play this for the intro, chorus and kazoo solo:

This is the verse:

And this is the bridge ("..and this whole time, it blows my mind..."):
I actually got these tabs from HERE, but they add in a few extra things that I don't use at all in my version. I don't know if it's messed up to post someone else's tabs or whatever else, but I'm not claiming it as my own. I just took that dude's tabs and made them my own. So your work is greatly appreciated original-tab-dude, thank you!
Hope this helps, thanks for checking out the video! Keep spreading the circle of love my Aquabat homies.
I've received some fine feedback and I'm appreciative to those of you who gave compliments. But I'm finding a lot of people asking me for chords or tabs. And I feel bad for not sharing so that's the purpose of this blog. Here's what I play friends:
I play this for the intro, chorus and kazoo solo:

This is the verse:

And this is the bridge ("..and this whole time, it blows my mind..."):

I actually got these tabs from HERE, but they add in a few extra things that I don't use at all in my version. I don't know if it's messed up to post someone else's tabs or whatever else, but I'm not claiming it as my own. I just took that dude's tabs and made them my own. So your work is greatly appreciated original-tab-dude, thank you!
Hope this helps, thanks for checking out the video! Keep spreading the circle of love my Aquabat homies.
Monday, September 26, 2011
Homocoming 2011!

Yes, that would be me holding the two votes cast for me to be Homocoming King at the Christopher Wahl Wellness Center's 2011 Homocoming Dance!
This past Saturday, I attended this fine event which was organized and successfully put on by my
My date for the night was my amazingly attractive friend Yas
who happened to be 7 months pregnant at the time. I did not impregnate her, for the record, but I think this picture is far more entertaining when assuming I was the seed provider. My sister and her boyfriend came along as well to help us straighties feel like less of a minority. We were sort of like outcasts. But outcasts who were welcomed and accepted despite our differences. What a concept.So I may not have received enough votes to be one of the Homocoming Kings, but I was BEYOND flattered to receive two random votes from the attendees of the event; most of whom I had met for the first time that night. Now as a brief background, I actually HAVE won a homecoming king vote once in my life during my senior year of college. That was fun because I was faaaar from popular. But I somehow managed to get the most votes, as I think the other nominees were so popular that all their votes just got canceled out. I'm really, really good at winning by default. BUT, despite the fact that I actually received enough votes to win that year, these TWO votes at the Homocoming Dance meant SO MUCH more to me. Not to de-value or be unappreciative of my college victory, but there's something about walking into a brand new place and seeing that you left some sort of impression on at least two of the people there that really is heart warming. And the event and it's attendee's definitely left an impression on me as well. One of the guys who DID win king gave SUCH a heartfelt speech about how important this group is to him and how much it means for him to be loved & accepted by them. Dang, it was a magical moment, one I'm glad I got to witness.
Anywho, I'll be sure to keep you posted the next time the gays vote for me for anything. I'm really hoping to win Most Homosexual Heterosexual at the end of the year.
Monday, August 8, 2011
Chili Dog Extravaganza!: Part Four
So in case you're just tuning in, this here is a series of videos shot in the summer of 2002 documenting myself, my two siblings and my best friend as we attempted to eat as many free Wienerschnitzel chili dogs as we could in a three hour span. I'd suggest going back and watching the other videos. But I've also been known to give really poor suggestions.
In part four, we visit our SIXTH Wienerschnitzel! Discover why it takes more than just good food to be a stand out Wienerschnitzel. AND catch Erica's rap debut at the end. Oh booooy.
The finale is next, my friends. I bet you there's gonna be chili dogs!
Sunday, July 31, 2011
Chili Dog Extravaganza!: Part Three
Oh my gosh! It's a day before August and I haven't given a new Chili Dog Extravaganza video since June 1st! That makes me a bad person. Here's part three my amigos. Brace yourself for THE WORST WIENERSCHNITZEL ALIVE! Or something like that.
Let's see if I can finish this extravaganza soon as opposed to taking 2 months to get one video done.
Wednesday, June 1, 2011
Chili Dog Extravaganza!: Part Two
In case the title of this blog post wasn't a give away, this is the second part of the Chili Dog Extravaganza. Boo ya! We're looking pretty strong in Part Two; spirits are high and we're making good time. We'll see if that energy holds in Parts Three and Four. Ooh, what a tease. Enjoy this second installment!
Monday, May 23, 2011
Chili Dog Extravaganza!: Part One
This is part one in a series of videos recapping the adventures of myself, my two siblings and my best friend as we attempted to eat as many Wienerschnitzel chili dogs as we could in a 2 hour span. Just watch the video, you'll catch on pretty quick. And if you don't, it just means you're slow on the uptake. Don't get discouraged though, I'm sure you thrive in other areas.
Wednesday, May 11, 2011
Chili Dog Extravaganza!: The Trailer
Let me set the scene for you: it's 2002. I'm 17 years old and my older brother Robert informs me that Wienerschnitzel will be giving out one free chili dog per person/per store on July 3rd between the hours of 5-8pm. The two of us know exactly what must be done. He maps out all the Wienerschnitzel locations within a 50 mile radius and we decide to hit up as many as we can in that three hour window in order to retrieve the maximum amount of free chili dogs. We recruit our eldest sister Erica and my lovable best friend Danny to take on the challenge with us...
This is THE CHILI DOG EXTRAVAGANZA!
Check back here for a series of videos recapping our journey.
Saturday, April 30, 2011
The Monkey Song
People often ask me what the first song I ever wrote was. I also often lie about questions people ask me in order to come up with a reason to share something of mine. That happens to be the case in this scenario.
So to answer the initial question that no one asked, the first song I ever wrote is called The Monkey Song. I wrote it in 2002 while in the country of Sri Lanka. I was sent through my high school as part of a program called Earthwatch. I was part of a research team that studied the social patterns of a specie of monkey called the Toque Macaque...or just Macaques as we called them. It was awesome. And maybe someday people will ask me about that and I'll share all my findings. But I began writing The Monkey Song while out in the jungles of Sri Lanka kicking it with some sweet monkeys. I made up the guitar part and finalized the lyrics upon my return to the states. And I never recorded it until last year when my friend Kathryn requested I do so in preparation for her trip to Sri Lanka. So thank you Kathryn for bringing the song back to life.
Highlights of the video to lookout for: my mustache and a sweet kazoo solo. Lowlights: everything else.
Wednesday, April 27, 2011
I'm Kind of a Big Four Whore
This past Saturday marked a momentous occasion in my life: my very first metal show. And what a metal show to be my first! The Big Four of heavy metal consists of Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth and Anthrax. I kinda think Iron Maiden got robbed there, but maybe they're sticking to American bands only? I don't know. Regardless, these four bands are legendary and when my brother offered me a free ticket to The Big Four show at the Empire Polo Club in Indio, CA, there was no way I could say no.
Now I have seen Metallica once before but they were a part of KROQ's Weenie Roast, so the crowd was much more calm than that of a metal show. So I braced myself for this one. The metalheads were in full force and they were all nuts. But the feeling of community I got there was awesome! Sure, any of these people could shank me without warning, but I oddly felt safe knowing that everyone was there for the same reason....to rock the eff out.
So as you may have predicted, I chose to document my experience at the Big Four. I went around and interviewed as many people on camera as I could. And I got people from all over the world. Mexico, Canada, Turkey and various states around this nation. And every single one of them was awesome! Even the ones who gave me the death stare and threatened to felate me without consent. Happy watching my metal friends.
Now I have seen Metallica once before but they were a part of KROQ's Weenie Roast, so the crowd was much more calm than that of a metal show. So I braced myself for this one. The metalheads were in full force and they were all nuts. But the feeling of community I got there was awesome! Sure, any of these people could shank me without warning, but I oddly felt safe knowing that everyone was there for the same reason....to rock the eff out.
So as you may have predicted, I chose to document my experience at the Big Four. I went around and interviewed as many people on camera as I could. And I got people from all over the world. Mexico, Canada, Turkey and various states around this nation. And every single one of them was awesome! Even the ones who gave me the death stare and threatened to felate me without consent. Happy watching my metal friends.
WARNING: Language & content may not be appropriate for younger viewers...or people with good taste.
Monday, April 11, 2011
U + Me = Us
Not too many people know this about me, but I was actually a member of a semi-successful boy band when I was 18. We were called 5gether and we were a 2gether cover band. In case you don't know who 2gether is, they were a parody boy band created by MTV to spoof on the boy band craze of the late 90s and early 2000s. So 5gether was a cover band of a parody band who spoofed on crappy music. So it's no surprise that 5gether was so short lived.
5gether consisted of myself (the bad boy), my sister Erica (the shy one), my best bud Danny (the cute one), my homie Dan (the older brother type) and my dear friend Irene (the heart throb). We only had one song. And we only performed it once. But what a performance it was. Check out our one and only performance at the La Verne Church of the Brethren's Youth Coffee House and be sure to stick around 'til the end for a "Where Are They Now" update. Oh, and you might find yourself asking who choreographed this fine routine... these moves were created by none other than yours truly.
Tuesday, March 29, 2011
Dr. Drew Approved!
After a day and a half full of heavy rain here in the friendly city of Lomita, a random lake appeared in the small field next to my apartment. I documented the occasion with a short video and dubbed the body of water Lake Lomita. I'm such an outside of the box thinker. I posted the video on FB and it got a good amount of views/feedback. All of which were appreciated. But one stood out a bit more than the others.
My good friend (and part time lover) Tyler is the web guy for Loveline. And my lake video apparently tickled his fancy (among other things) to the point that he felt it would be appropriate to share my video with Dr. Drew. Need proof? Here:
That would be Dr. Drew himself, fully engaged in watching my video. A sight of beauty. When I asked Tyler how Drew reacted to the video, this was his response:
"he was typical drew - paid attention for like 2 seconds and then started talking"
If a better review exists, I'd like to hear it. So from here on out, as you watch my videos, just know that they're not only endorsed by Dr. Drew, but he might even have watched 2 seconds of them before moving on to conversations with others. See the Dr. Drew approved video here:
Tuesday, March 22, 2011
Or maybe it's just b/c I look like this...
How about a good old fashion "whine about how bad my luck with women is to make people feel sorry for me" post?? It's been a while, hasn't it?
So I was sort of dating this girl. I say "sort of" only because we never defined anything. But we went on six dates over the span of about a month, so I suppose that can be defined as dating. She was way cool. I really enjoyed my time with her. We did fun things. She seemed very impressed by the places I took her and as far as I could tell, she seemed very into me. And there were conversations had between us that verified the fact that she was into me. I wouldn't say I went over the top with it, but I made sure she knew that I was quite into her as well. We seemed to be moving at a healthy pace. Not too fast, not too slow.
So she invites me to attend her best friend's birthday brunch. Which entailed meeting not only her best friend, but the family of her best friend and several of her other friends. I took this invite as a sign that things were getting a little more serious between us. And I was very excited for that. So I went to the party, met her friends and had a GREAT time. I got along with everyone, had some great conversations with her friends. I wouldn't say I blew anyone out of the water, but I certainly wasn't a jerk to anyone and I don't think I was a dud or a party pooper or anything like that. Though who knows, I'm just sort of naturally lame, so maybe I didn't realize it. Anywho...the day ends and we say our goodbyes. A little bit of hug, a little but of kiss; the usual for us by now...
Aaaannndd....I never hear from her again.
Not entirely true, we DID text each other a few times during the next few days, but it was like pulling teeth! Every text I sent yielded a short response from her with no follow up questions or interest in what I was doing. Which was COMPLETELY opposite to the text conversations we had had over the past month. So then I stopped texting her so as not to be "that guy". And sure enough, she never texted. I called her a few days after the texts stopped and left a very mature, very honest message. I basically told her that I understood there had been some sort of wall put up between us and I was happy to give her her space, but I was just shocked that that wall was put up without any conversation explaining why. I just asked that she call me back as I would appreciate having that conversation. Did she call? Nope.com.
So this was over two weeks ago and while it's still on my mind to some extent (obviously enough to rant about it here) and I'm still slightly bummed, I've pretty much forced myself to move on. I suck at letting go of things, but it does me no good to hold onto a girl who won't communicate with me. So as I've spent time thinking about it, I've come to a few conclusions as to what could have happened. And I'd appreciate YOUR vote as to which you think it is.
1.) She started seeing someone else. It's certainly possible, she's beautiful, smart, down to earth, easy to get along with... I'm sure I'm not the only guy interested in her. The only reason this is hard to buy is that she stopped contact with me VERY suddenly. It wasn't a gradual thing like one might expect if there's another person in the picture.
2.) She died. Or she faked her own death. This one would be tough to believe as her Facebook has been updated by her since. But maybe she hired someone to do that for her in her dead (or fake dead) state.
3.) She gave me up for Lent. The day I met her friends was the Sunday before Fat Tuesday. Maybe she gave me up and to make the sacrifice even more difficult, she opted not to tell me about it. Here, I wrote a song about that if you'd like to do further research:
4.) She just stopped liking me. We all know this one is not only most likely the case, but pretty much is the case. It's the winner. But please humor me and pick one of the other options.
So I was sort of dating this girl. I say "sort of" only because we never defined anything. But we went on six dates over the span of about a month, so I suppose that can be defined as dating. She was way cool. I really enjoyed my time with her. We did fun things. She seemed very impressed by the places I took her and as far as I could tell, she seemed very into me. And there were conversations had between us that verified the fact that she was into me. I wouldn't say I went over the top with it, but I made sure she knew that I was quite into her as well. We seemed to be moving at a healthy pace. Not too fast, not too slow.
So she invites me to attend her best friend's birthday brunch. Which entailed meeting not only her best friend, but the family of her best friend and several of her other friends. I took this invite as a sign that things were getting a little more serious between us. And I was very excited for that. So I went to the party, met her friends and had a GREAT time. I got along with everyone, had some great conversations with her friends. I wouldn't say I blew anyone out of the water, but I certainly wasn't a jerk to anyone and I don't think I was a dud or a party pooper or anything like that. Though who knows, I'm just sort of naturally lame, so maybe I didn't realize it. Anywho...the day ends and we say our goodbyes. A little bit of hug, a little but of kiss; the usual for us by now...
Aaaannndd....I never hear from her again.
Not entirely true, we DID text each other a few times during the next few days, but it was like pulling teeth! Every text I sent yielded a short response from her with no follow up questions or interest in what I was doing. Which was COMPLETELY opposite to the text conversations we had had over the past month. So then I stopped texting her so as not to be "that guy". And sure enough, she never texted. I called her a few days after the texts stopped and left a very mature, very honest message. I basically told her that I understood there had been some sort of wall put up between us and I was happy to give her her space, but I was just shocked that that wall was put up without any conversation explaining why. I just asked that she call me back as I would appreciate having that conversation. Did she call? Nope.com.
So this was over two weeks ago and while it's still on my mind to some extent (obviously enough to rant about it here) and I'm still slightly bummed, I've pretty much forced myself to move on. I suck at letting go of things, but it does me no good to hold onto a girl who won't communicate with me. So as I've spent time thinking about it, I've come to a few conclusions as to what could have happened. And I'd appreciate YOUR vote as to which you think it is.
1.) She started seeing someone else. It's certainly possible, she's beautiful, smart, down to earth, easy to get along with... I'm sure I'm not the only guy interested in her. The only reason this is hard to buy is that she stopped contact with me VERY suddenly. It wasn't a gradual thing like one might expect if there's another person in the picture.
2.) She died. Or she faked her own death. This one would be tough to believe as her Facebook has been updated by her since. But maybe she hired someone to do that for her in her dead (or fake dead) state.
3.) She gave me up for Lent. The day I met her friends was the Sunday before Fat Tuesday. Maybe she gave me up and to make the sacrifice even more difficult, she opted not to tell me about it. Here, I wrote a song about that if you'd like to do further research:
4.) She just stopped liking me. We all know this one is not only most likely the case, but pretty much is the case. It's the winner. But please humor me and pick one of the other options.
So check it! For the FIRST TIME EVER, I've got a poll on this here blog. So here, vote for which you think happened:
God, I'm such a loser...as I'm typing this I'm reminiscing on the fact that in some of our first online exchanges, she thanked me for numbering things. She said people were more likely to read things if they were in lists. Is that why YOU read this list? It is, isn't it? Damn, she was right.
Ok friends, this was whinier than I expected it to be. Sorry for being emo... but if you'll excuse me, I have to go cut myself now.
Ok friends, this was whinier than I expected it to be. Sorry for being emo... but if you'll excuse me, I have to go cut myself now.
Thursday, March 17, 2011
The Day Boris Smile Fed Me Chili
So I did my second interview for receptacle magazine with Long Beach band Boris Smile. I can't recommend a band more. Not only were these guys incredibly nice, but their music is just stellar. AND at the end of the interview, they fed me chili. There's no quicker way to my heart than chili. But let's get back to the music. I'm kind of a sucker for anything with an acoustic guitar and if you add in a plethora of instruments (including tuba, keys, violin, ACCORDION and more) then I'm just sold. These guys were nice enough to not only let me stumble over questions and interview them, but they also performed THREE songs for me. If you don't feel like watching the whole interview, do yourself the favor and AT LEAST watch their performances. So so good. Please enjoy.
Boris Smile Interview
Boris Smile - "Aurora"
Boris Smile - "The Moment"
Wednesday, March 2, 2011
Tuesday, March 1, 2011
The Psycho Mike Effect
So last night it was announced that my friend & co-worker "Psycho" Mike Catherwood has been selected to be on the cast of Dancing With The Stars. This surprised me as much as it did all of the viewing audience who had no clue who he was. But I'm immensely excited and proud of him...he's a standup dude who's worked hard for everything he's earned and it's great to see good things happen to good people like him.
So I'm not here to be a name dropper or ass kisser... really I'm here just to sell out and ride the media train that is Psycho Mike. I've shared a few blogs in the past that have discussed my Loveline/Kevin & Bean adventures with Mike. And without getting into detail, let's just say I've shared more bodily fluids with Mike than I care to admit. But because of these blog posts, a number of random internet perusers have come across my blog. I know this because I'm able to see what keywords people searched that led them here. And it seems like every week someone searched something Mike related to find my blog. Whether it be as simple as "Psycho Mike Loveline" or as specific as "Psycho Mike gets squirted on"...they all lead here. So I'm predicting that Mike's appearance on Dancing With The Stars will charm America and lead many an internet user to google his name. And I want to be sure that THIS BLOG comes up during those searches. So I've been sure to randomly disperse key words that might come up in a google search into this blog....

So do me a favor... IF you did indeed come across this blog while searching for something Michael Catherwood related, please feel free to comment to let me know. You can be annonymous, that's cool. I'm just very curious to see what the Psycho Mike effect is.
And Mike, I know you found this after googling
your name. So hey stud, congrats! And thanks for sharing your "cauldron of desire" with me as often as you have.
So I'm not here to be a name dropper or ass kisser... really I'm here just to sell out and ride the media train that is Psycho Mike. I've shared a few blogs in the past that have discussed my Loveline/Kevin & Bean adventures with Mike. And without getting into detail, let's just say I've shared more bodily fluids with Mike than I care to admit. But because of these blog posts, a number of random internet perusers have come across my blog. I know this because I'm able to see what keywords people searched that led them here. And it seems like every week someone searched something Mike related to find my blog. Whether it be as simple as "Psycho Mike Loveline" or as specific as "Psycho Mike gets squirted on"...they all lead here. So I'm predicting that Mike's appearance on Dancing With The Stars will charm America and lead many an internet user to google his name. And I want to be sure that THIS BLOG comes up during those searches. So I've been sure to randomly disperse key words that might come up in a google search into this blog....

So do me a favor... IF you did indeed come across this blog while searching for something Michael Catherwood related, please feel free to comment to let me know. You can be annonymous, that's cool. I'm just very curious to see what the Psycho Mike effect is.
And Mike, I know you found this after googling
your name. So hey stud, congrats! And thanks for sharing your "cauldron of desire" with me as often as you have.
Monday, February 7, 2011
Wild Pack of Interviewees
So this here is the launch of my latest project. The immensely talented Ryo Baum, who has previously helped me release my Halloween EP and just been an all around good guy, has asked me to help him start a series of interviews with local artists and musicians for his online magazine, receptaclemag.com. So the first interview in this series was with the Long Beach band Wild Pack of Canaries. Great guys with a very unique sound. They somehow are able to make obscure, almost experimental sounding music that you can still bob your head and sing along to. I highly recommend checking their stuff out, it's all I've been listening to for the last week. You can start by checking out my interview with them and see if it wet's your appetite for some more Wild Pack... Ha. I said "wet."
Got some more artists on the horizon, so be sure to check back here or at receptaclemag.com or on my Facebook or on receptaclemag's Facebook or on one of my friend's Facebook as they might link it on their page or just google "receptaclemag interview" or come up with another way to find these interviews and let me know if you find them.
Got some more artists on the horizon, so be sure to check back here or at receptaclemag.com or on my Facebook or on receptaclemag's Facebook or on one of my friend's Facebook as they might link it on their page or just google "receptaclemag interview" or come up with another way to find these interviews and let me know if you find them.
Wednesday, January 12, 2011
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: The Farewell
Well ladies and gents, this is it. And when I say "this is it", it really means this is it.* Day Six, my birthday, was our last day in El Paso. We spent it exploring a very cool part of the city where a bunch of freeway interchanges meet called The Spaghetti Bowl. Underneath it are all these very cool Mexican themed murals. So we stopped by to admire those on our way to the airport before our sad departure. Please enjoy our adventures from the day as they guide you through a tour of our entire trip.
All the songs used were credited with each video on my YouTube page. You can look those up here.
And thanks for following this little series. I know it's not always fun watching the adventures of someone else, but I had a great time putting these together for you and I hope you at least got a few smiles out of them.
*Note: this may not really be it.
All the songs used were credited with each video on my YouTube page. You can look those up here.
And thanks for following this little series. I know it's not always fun watching the adventures of someone else, but I had a great time putting these together for you and I hope you at least got a few smiles out of them.
*Note: this may not really be it.
Monday, January 10, 2011
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: Day Five
Day Five was our last full day in El Paso. We spent it at the Hyundai Sun Bowl on the campus of the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). It featured Notre Dame and the University of Miami. Notre Dame won big time (oh, spoiler alert) and because the game was a blowout and it was so cold, we only made it through the 3rd quarter. And luckily, Danny's family had a prime tailgate spot so we warmed up by the fire with some drinks after the game.
Day Five also happened to be New Years Eve; which happens to be the day before my birthday. So we went out that night to celebrate both of those occasions. I had one too many drinks to remember to take much footage (and the footage I did get is a bit out of focus; apologies in advance). But much fun was had bringing in the New Year with my best bud and some amazing new friends.
The conclusion of this epic journey is next. Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: The Farewell. Brace yourself for some waterworks, it'll be a tear-jerker. (I don't know if that's true, but I gotta try to sell it somehow.)
Day Five also happened to be New Years Eve; which happens to be the day before my birthday. So we went out that night to celebrate both of those occasions. I had one too many drinks to remember to take much footage (and the footage I did get is a bit out of focus; apologies in advance). But much fun was had bringing in the New Year with my best bud and some amazing new friends.
The conclusion of this epic journey is next. Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: The Farewell. Brace yourself for some waterworks, it'll be a tear-jerker. (I don't know if that's true, but I gotta try to sell it somehow.)
Saturday, January 8, 2011
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: Day Four
We had a pretty quiet start to Day Four. We kicked around Mariza's house and just relaxed...tried to catch our collective breaths from the previous days of action. Then during our relaxation, we looked outside and realize IT WAS SNOWING!!! We were certainly not expecting snow on our trip to Texas, so Danny and I reacted with great enthusiasm.
That night we roamed around downtown & attended a pep rally of sorts for the big bowl game in town that weekend (The Hyundai Sun Bowl which featured Notre Dame and Univ. of Miami...more on that game later). Afterward we went to see Talib Kweli do a rare DJ set at a small bar/club called The Garden. We had a BLAST there, but unfortunately Mr. Kweli put on a terrible set. He didn't even spin, he just MC'd. His mic was too loud. And he stopped mid-song numerous times to break up fights in the crowd. I was only involved in one of those fights. But all that said, it was one of the more memorable nights because of all the laughs with Danny, Mariza, Becca and our new friend/driver for the night Maria. Gooooood times.
Day Five happened to fall on New Years Eve! We went to the above mentioned Bowl Game in the cold snow and almost froze to death. But Danny's warm spirit saved us all, as usual. Day 5 coming soon!
That night we roamed around downtown & attended a pep rally of sorts for the big bowl game in town that weekend (The Hyundai Sun Bowl which featured Notre Dame and Univ. of Miami...more on that game later). Afterward we went to see Talib Kweli do a rare DJ set at a small bar/club called The Garden. We had a BLAST there, but unfortunately Mr. Kweli put on a terrible set. He didn't even spin, he just MC'd. His mic was too loud. And he stopped mid-song numerous times to break up fights in the crowd. I was only involved in one of those fights. But all that said, it was one of the more memorable nights because of all the laughs with Danny, Mariza, Becca and our new friend/driver for the night Maria. Gooooood times.
Day Five happened to fall on New Years Eve! We went to the above mentioned Bowl Game in the cold snow and almost froze to death. But Danny's warm spirit saved us all, as usual. Day 5 coming soon!
Thursday, January 6, 2011
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: Day Three
I don't usually like to talk about how much work I put into things because then it can alter expectations but DAMMIT I put a lot of work into these videos. I'm just gonna let them speak for themselves.
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: Day Three (The Tattoo Edition)
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: Day Three (The Rad Bromance Edition)
Day Four is just around the corner!! And so is a change in the weather. Snow in Texas?! See how we react....
Day Four is just around the corner!! And so is a change in the weather. Snow in Texas?! See how we react....
Tuesday, January 4, 2011
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: Day Two
Our second day in El Paso was probably the most beautiful one weather wise. Danny & I had the first half of the day to ourselves since our host Mariza (Danny's cousin) had to work. So we participated in a few outings which you'll see in the video.
In the evening, we went out to one of the cooler bars I've been in of late; a place called the Black Market. Just a good crowd, lots of cool artwork on the wall, a grade-A facility if I do say so myself. Mariza is finally introduced on camera and look out for an appearance by our new friend Becca. We were supposed to take her to the airport that night so she could catch her flight home but she ended up staying another 5 days, probably because we were so cool. And when I say "we" I mean "Danny." Enjoy!
I don't like to hype things up too much, but I have a feeling Day Three's video is gonna be a winner. Tattoo's, booze and dancing shoes. Can anyone say all-male Lady Gaga cover band?? I'm assuming you can, so thank you for saying it.
Monday, January 3, 2011
Danny & Kevin Do El Paso: Day One
So my best friend Danny & I spent six days in El Paso, Texas and had ourselves a spectacular time! We stayed with his cousin Mariza (who is an AMAZING host (and an AMAZING person (and yields an AMAZING amount of parenthesis when being described))) and ran all around town with her. We were joined by a cast of other equally amazing individuals who will be introduced throughout this series of blogs. I'm gonna do my best to recap our trip for you day by day, primarily through the use of video. So here's DAY ONE which includes our plane ride there, hitting a few sites around El Paso, hanging out at a friend's holiday gathering and MURDER!! (Murder may not be included.)
I'll start putting together DAY TWO today. It SHOULD include mine and Danny's dog walking date and a lot of drunk talk about putting things in your butt. Pretty normal stuff. Other highlights to look out for down the line include Danny getting a tattoo, an all male Lady Gaga cover band, a freezing cold football game and Danny confessing his love to me. See ya for DAY TWO!
Sunday, January 2, 2011
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
